Format War :: arguing the toss over which machine is better
It is currently Fri Apr 25, 2014 12:46 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Plus4, "Adventures in time 2", different sprite movement
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 11:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:16 am
Posts: 80
popmilo wrote:
As Kichy pointed out:
"The room graphics will use 3 fixed + 1 variable charcolor."

Since we are on FormatWar I have to compare this with what is possible on A8 :mrgreen:

From plus4 screenshots that one variable color makes a huge difference compared to A8s usual 4 colors "standard"...


I guess in a similar vein, talking about 4 colours makes me think of mode 1 on the CPC, which I'm really not a fan of for graphics. But the situation in AiT2 isnt really just 4 colours, it's the 3 fixed + 1 variable as you point out, so it shouldnt look anywhere near as plain as the games I think of when 4 colours is mentioned! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Plus4, "Adventures in time 2", different sprite movement
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 3:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 5:48 pm
Posts: 926
Location: Lisboa - Portugal
Static screen could look better on A8 because 'quad wide' underlays PMs gives you that 'colours/luminances' you want/you need...

C16 game was build with their colour clash problem... now build the same on A8 without colour clash but on an A8 way...
Get your soft sprite routine running and this time and for C16 portings you really just need 128 chars=1Charset.

Why? Because on A8 you can have 1Charset for the Top&Bottom Lines and Status Area that leaves you with just another Charset just for the Playing Area...
ADVENTURES IN TIME can be on A8 with just one Charset on the Playing area (including soft sprites+shifting)...
And that in just 5colours Mode Antic4:
Attachment:
ADVENTURES IN TIME A8_1_bmp only.png
ADVENTURES IN TIME A8_1_bmp only.png [ 4.83 KiB | Viewed 1374 times ]


And this leaving you 'free cycles' because you will not need to start your PMG underlays on the BadLines:
Attachment:
ADVENTURES IN TIME A8_1_pmg only.png
ADVENTURES IN TIME A8_1_pmg only.png [ 2.55 KiB | Viewed 1374 times ]


And yes, I said you could have it, but it's up to you (up to you not personal but for alll, in general ;) ...):
Attachment:
ADVENTURES IN TIME A8_1_all.png
ADVENTURES IN TIME A8_1_all.png [ 4.6 KiB | Viewed 1374 times ]

(And yes, I just don't choose this Walls 2nd Level because it's more, or seems lesss difficult because I can also get the others :) ... maybe on the next days, or if someone is interested)
:arrow:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Plus4, "Adventures in time 2", different sprite movement
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 7:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 5:42 am
Posts: 1034
Location: Senta, Serbia
New preview was released on Arok party:

http://plus4world.powweb.com/software/A ... _2_Preview

Attachment:
adventures_in_time_2_preview_main.gif
adventures_in_time_2_preview_main.gif [ 5.04 KiB | Viewed 1005 times ]


Looks like those 3+1 colors work really well... :)

_________________
One day I'll finish coding a game!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adventures in Time
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 5:48 pm
Posts: 926
Location: Lisboa - Portugal
So, we two can start the conversion!... First 1 and then 2. But only after the end of the summer right?
;)
:)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adventures in Time
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 10:15 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 5:49 pm
Posts: 1038
Location: Leeds, U.K.
José Pereira wrote:
So, we two can start the conversion!... First 1 and then 2.


Sure, do you want anyone to point you at a good cross assembler? =-)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adventures in Time
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 12:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 5:48 pm
Posts: 926
Location: Lisboa - Portugal
TMR wrote:
José Pereira wrote:
So, we two can start the conversion!... First 1 and then 2.


Sure, do you want anyone to point you at a good cross assembler? =-)

No need to.
And two refers to me and Popmilo. And only possible by almost end of the summer because he's very busy, I hope, untill there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adventures in Time
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 3:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 5:42 am
Posts: 1034
Location: Senta, Serbia
José Pereira wrote:
So, we two can start the conversion!... First 1 and then 2. But only after the end of the summer right?
;)
:)

Maybe something like that during autumn...
Something like Adv.in.time 2. First part had too many colors...

Doing something like part 2 on A8 would have lots of limitations compared to Plus4, but would be possible in some form...
At least the speed shouldn't be the problem...

And yeah, I would do a new game... Don't like copying stuff that much... :)

_________________
One day I'll finish coding a game!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Content copyright © 2009-2014 Format War     Designed and hosted by Enisoc Design